Upcoming at SPACE

Off-site

Window

Friday 05.02.2014 through Wednesday 03.12.2014
NYC based artist Cooper Holoweski's installation in our storefront window navigates the complicated realms of birth, death and rebirth.

Main Gallery

Friday 06.06.2014 through Friday 03.28.2014
San Francisco, CA based artist Jenny Odell creates intricate collaged cutouts of mundane Google satellite images;

Annex

Friday 04.25.2014 through Friday 03.14.2014
Boston based artist Pat Falco is the self-proclaimed "Master of Light and Shadow" and regarded by many of today's finest art critics as "Who?" Pat graduated from Massachusetts College of Art &

Artist Talk

Tuesday 04.22.2014
Join the Maine Writers &
Thursday 06.12.2014
Daniel Jones is the editor of the New York Times' weekly Modern Love column.

Film

Thursday 04.17.2014
Lars von Trier's NYMPHOMANIAC: VOLUME I is the story of Joe, a self-diagnosed nymphomaniac who is discovered badly beaten in an alley by an older bachelor, Seligman, who takes her into his home.
Saturday 04.19.2014
Flood Tide follows a group of artists and musicians who live in a small, post-industrial town.
Monday 04.21.2014
A good movie gives you a ticket to a secret world and Big Men delivers again and again, taking you into rooms you have no business entering.
Friday 04.25.2014
BENEATH THE HARVEST SKY tells the story of Casper and Dominic — two best friends that are fiercely loyal to one anoth

Music

Thursday 04.17.2014
We're excited to welcome Alex Bleeker who's collection of of Freaks includes&
Friday 05.02.2014
We're stoked to announce that Nat Baldwin returns to play his first headline show at SPACE.
Tuesday 05.13.2014
"WOODS’ brand of pop shamanism has undergone several gradual transformations over their past few albums, but on With Light And With Lov
Thursday 05.15.2014
Join the Portland Chamber Music Festival for an evening of chamber music at SPACE Gallery.

More

<<Apr 17Apr 18Apr 19Apr 20Apr 21Apr 22Apr 23Apr 24Apr 25Apr 26>>
Window

Let Our Love Guide You From This World To The Next

Wednesday, March 12, 2014 to Friday, May 2, 2014
Annex

Last Place Ever

Friday, March 14, 2014 to Friday, April 25, 2014
12:00
Film

NYMPHOMANIAC: VOLUME I + II

Friday, April 11, 2014 - 12:00pm
Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 12:00pm
Sunday, April 13, 2014 - 12:00pm
Monday, April 14, 2014 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, April 15, 2014 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, April 16, 2014 - 12:00pm
Thursday, April 17, 2014 - 12:00pm
7:30–9:30
Film

FLOOD TIDE

Saturday, April 19, 2014 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Doors at: 

Doors open at 7:00pm

Film
7:30–9:30
Film

BIG MEN

Monday, April 21, 2014 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Doors at: 

Doors open at 7:00pm

7:30
Artist Talk

An Evening with Andre Dubus III and Richard Russo

Tuesday, April 22, 2014 - 7:30pm
Doors at: 

Doors at 7:00 PM.
Reception with the authors at 6:00 PM (tickets required).

Community event
5:30–9:00
Community event

Fine Gems

Thursday, April 24, 2014 - 5:30pm to 9:00pm
12:00
Film

BENEATH THE HARVEST SKY

Friday, April 25, 2014 - 12:00pm
Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 12:00pm
Sunday, April 27, 2014 - 12:00pm
Monday, April 28, 2014 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, April 29, 2014 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, April 30, 2014 - 12:00pm
Thursday, May 1, 2014 - 12:00pm
12:00
Film

BENEATH THE HARVEST SKY

Friday, April 25, 2014 - 12:00pm
Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 12:00pm
Sunday, April 27, 2014 - 12:00pm
Monday, April 28, 2014 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, April 29, 2014 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, April 30, 2014 - 12:00pm
Thursday, May 1, 2014 - 12:00pm
8:30
Music

Alex Bleeker and the Freaks

Thursday, April 17, 2014 - 8:30pm
Doors at: 

Doors at 8pm

3:00–5:00
Workshop

BENEATH THE HARVEST SKY FILMMAKERS ARON GAUDET & GITA PULLAPILLY

Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm
Doors at: 

Doors open at 2:30pm

8:00
Performance

Springtime Spectacular

Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 8:00pm
Doors at: 

Doors at 7:30pm

Health/Care Film Series

American healthcare has emerged in recent years as a hot-button issue, generating vigorous debates over a system that many agree to be at best, fairly inefficient and at worse, in need of serious overhaul. In fulfilling the “Ideas” element of SPACE Gallery’s “Arts, Artists, Ideas” directive we present our Health/Care Film Series in January and February 2013. Three films, paired with discussions,... MORE
Feb 13, 2013
Film: Escape Fire
Jan 9, 2013
Jan 18, 2013, Jan 19, 2013, Jan 20, 2013

Summer Music Film Series

Music films are a natural fit at SPACE since they bridge two of the programming worlds we curate year-round. We’ve put together a diverse lineup of films about music and musicians to help fill the summer months. Take a look. There should be something for just about any taste. 

Maine College of Art Illustrators' Film Series

SPACE Gallery and the Maine College of Art Illustration Department have teamed up to curate a small series of films about cartoonists and illustrators.
Sep 24, 2013
Dec 3, 2013

Pages

Pages

Upcoming Events

  • Film: Thursday, Apr 17, 2014   |   12:00 PM
    NYMPHOMANIAC: VOLUME I + II
  • Music: Thursday, Apr 17, 2014   |   8:30 PM
    Alex Bleeker and the Freaks
  • Film: Saturday, Apr 19, 2014   |   7:30 PM
    FLOOD TIDE
  • Film: Monday, Apr 21, 2014   |   7:30 PM
    BIG MEN
  • Hidden: Tuesday, Apr 22, 2014   |   2:00 AM
    survey
  • Artist Talk: Tuesday, Apr 22, 2014   |   7:30 PM
    An Evening with Andre Dubus III and Richard Russo
  • Community event: Thursday, Apr 24, 2014   |   5:30 PM
    Fine Gems
  • Film: Friday, Apr 25, 2014   |   12:00 PM
    BENEATH THE HARVEST SKY
  • Film: Saturday, Apr 26, 2014   |   12:00 PM
    BENEATH THE HARVEST SKY
  • Workshop: Saturday, Apr 26, 2014   |   3:00 PM
    BENEATH THE HARVEST SKY FILMMAKERS ARON GAUDET & GITA PULLAPILLY
  • Performance: Saturday, Apr 26, 2014   |   8:00 PM
    Springtime Spectacular
  • Film: Sunday, Apr 27, 2014   |   12:00 PM
    BENEATH THE HARVEST SKY

Current Exhibitions

  • Window   |   3.12 - 5.2
    Let Our Love Guide You From This World To The Next
  • Annex   |   3.14 - 4.25
    Last Place Ever
  • Main Gallery   |   3.28 - 6.6
    Long Distance

SpaceGalleryBlog

April 15, 2014 | By anne
Want to help us out big time? We're looking for some feedback from you (yes, you!) about how we're doing. As an organization that wants to provide as many innovative programs, films, music shows, and exhibitions to our community at the lowest admission price ...

Recent Goings On